IFG IV « Resources & Sustainability »

The focus of the IFG “Resources and Sustainability” is to examine the origins and potential effects of a range of economic and social strategies that are currently being explored to create an alternative model of sustainable economic development in the region. This IFG investigates how such strategies might lead to positive economic development and help address environmental challenges.

Research Agenda and Work Program:

The fourth Interdisciplinary Fellow Group (IFG IV) “Resources and Sustainability” focuses on the origins and potential effects of a range of economic and social strategies that are being explored to create an alternative model of sustainable economic development in North Africa. The IFG examines how these strategies can lead to positive socio-economic development and help address environmental challenges. It addresses the following key questions:

  • How do societies deal with emerging socio-economic disparities and growing environmental problems?
  • What economic models could ensure a socially and environmentally sustainable future?

Five fellows at different stages of their research career and from different social science disciplines – namely political science, peace and conflict studies, agricultural science, economics and management – work together at MECAM in Tunis between March and June 2022.

After the first few meetings, the IFG will identify some common threads linking the fellows’ research. These will guide the group’s work under the general umbrella of Imagining the Future / Confronting Disparities.

The IFG work program is roughly divided into three phases:

  • Phase 1 (March/April 2022): Orientation phase to find common ground (internal project presentations and text discussions joint activity planning) ;
  • Phase 2 (May/June): Joint research and writing (external project presentations; conducting joint events and activities) ;
    Phase 3 (after the end of the grant phase): Individual and joint publications.

IFG IV “Resources and Sustainability” activities:

In parallel with the individual research and publication projects that each fellow pursues during their four-month stay, IFG will develop a scientific program of joint activities and events (to be published in due course), including the MECAM Spectrum series that will allow IFG IV fellows to present their research at a variety of institutions, in a variety of contexts, and to a variety of audiences while in Tunisia.

English

IFG IV « Ressources & durabilité »

L’objectif de l’IFG « Ressources et durabilité » est d’examiner les origines et les effets potentiels d’une gamme de stratégies économiques et sociales actuellement expérimentées pour créer un modèle alternatif de développement économique durable dans la région. Cet IFG étudie comment de telles stratégies pourraient conduire à un développement économique positif et contribuer à relever les défis environnementaux.

Agenda de recherche et programme de travail :

Le quatrième groupe de recherche interdisciplinaire (Interdisciplinary Fellow Group) « Ressources et durabilité » (IFG IV) se concentre sur les origines et les effets potentiels d’une série de stratégies économiques et sociales qui sont actuellement explorées pour créer un modèle alternatif de développement économique durable en Afrique du Nord. L’IFG étudie comment ces stratégies peuvent conduire à un développement socio-économique positif et aider à relever les défis environnementaux. Il aborde les questions principales suivantes :

  • Comment les sociétés font-elles face aux disparités socio-économiques émergentes et aux problèmes environnementaux croissants ?
  • Quels modèles économiques pourraient assurer un avenir durable sur le plan social et environnemental ?

Cinq boursiers (fellows) à différents stades de leur carrière de recherche et issus de différentes disciplines des sciences sociales – à savoir les sciences politiques, les études sur la paix et les conflits, les sciences agricoles, l’économie et la gestion – travaillent ensemble au MECAM à Tunis entre mars et juin 2022.

A l’issue des premières réunions, l’IFG identifiera certains fils conducteurs reliant les recherches des boursiers. Ils guideront le travail du groupe sous l’égide générale de « Imaginer l’avenir / Faire face aux disparités ».

Le programme de travail de l’IFG est grosso modo divisé en trois phases :

  • Phase 1 (mars / avril 2022) : Phase d’orientation pour trouver un terrain d’entente (présentations internes des projets et discussions de textes ; planification d’activités communes) ;
  • Phase 2 (mai / juin) : Recherche et rédaction de textes en commun (présentations externes des projets ; réalisation d’événements et d’activités communs) ;
  • Phase 3 (après la fin de la phase de bourse) : Publications individuelles et conjointes.

 

Activités de l’IFG IV « Ressources et durabilité » :

Parallèlement aux projets individuels de recherche et de publication que chaque boursier poursuit pendant son séjour de quatre mois, l’IFG élaborera un programme scientifique d’activités et d’événements conjoints (à publier en temps opportun), dont la série MECAM Spectrum qui permettra aux boursiers de l’IFG IV de présenter leurs recherches dans diverses institutions, dans différents contextes et à des publics variés pendant leur présence en Tunisie.

Français