International Colloquium – Approches pour l’histoire de la langue BERBÈRE: Mise en perspective  d’une langue à travers les âges

Organized by the University of Tunis, the Laboratoire du Monde Arabo Médiéval, the Maison des Sciences de l’Homme Paris Nord and the Laboratoire Langues et Civilisations à Tradition Orale (CNRS, Paris). In partnership with: (1) The Agency for Heritage Development and Cultural Promotion (AMVPPC), (2) the National Library of Tunisia (BnT), (3) the National Heritage Institute (INP), (4) the Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts Beit al-Hikma.

Tunis 26 – 28 May 2022

 

Destination Tunisia: Changing border regimes and Syrian displacement trajectories in the Global South

Dr. Wael Garnaoui (founder of the Border Studies Group, University of Sousse) will chair the webinar with interventions from Dr. Ann Zuntz (MECAM & University of Edinburgh), Marwen Bounab (University of Sousse), Asma Ben Hadj Hassen & Francesco Teo Ficcarelli (Mixed Migration Centre), and will be moderated by Dr. Marouen Taleb (Tunis Research Institute on Contemporary Maghreb). The first half of the webinar will provide insights into Syrians’ flight trajectories to Tunisia, presenting results from recent ethnographic fieldwork led by Dr. Ann Zuntz. The research comprised interviews with Syrian households, policymakers and aid providers in Tunisia; it redirects the focus from South-North journeys across the Mediterranean to South-South movement. The study demonstrates how pre-war migration and trade ties between Syria and Tunisia and Tunisia’s complex migration landscape have shaped Syrians’ conditions of arrival. Changing border regimes in Arab host countries have reordered Syrian movements across the Middle East and North Africa, forcing the poorest Syrians to travel the longest, most dangerous, and most expensive routes to reach Tunisia. MMC will close the webinar with insights from quantitative survey data collected over the last two years with Syrians residing in Tunisia which will shed light on the most common routes taken journey experiences and intentions for the future. Following the presentations, our discussant Marouen Taleb will respond with his comments and lead into the Q&A session.

The webinar is held virtually on Tuesday 8 February 2022, 17h00 – 18h30 (CET) (16h00 – 17h30 UTC) after register on Eventbrite

download here 

Dinner – meeting with representatives of German institutions based in Tunis

To promote the center as a platform for knowledge sharing and exchange between researchers from Tunisia, the Maghreb and Germany, the “Merian Center for Advanced Studies in the Maghreb” (MECAM) organized on December 14 a reception in its offices located at the Institute of Applied Studies in Humanities of Tunis (ISEAHT). During this reception the two directors of MECAM, Prof. Rachid Ouaissa and Prof. Khaled Kchir, with the presence of the president of the University of Tunis, Mr. Habib Sidhom, had the opportunity to present the structure of MECAM, and its main thematic clusters, to the various representatives of German institutions present in Tunis. This presentation continued around a buffet dinner, with an in-depth dialogue concerning the ambitions of this center and possible future cooperation.

Dialogue Forum – “Impacts of the Covid-19 Pandemic on science and research in partner regions of the Merian Centers”

In their contribution to the Science Festival Globe21, the Merian Centres (represented by ICAS:MP – Delhi/India -; CALAS – Guadalajara/Mexico -; Mecila – Sao Paulo/Brasil – ; MIASA – Accra/Ghana -; MECAM – Tunis/Tunisia) will contribute from their perspective to a better understanding and general reflection on the immanent, but also the possible long-term implications of the COVID-19 crisis for research conditions in the Global South and international scientific cooperation. • Context information DOWNLOAD 

Ateliers et conférences

Presentation of MECAM and its themes at the University of Tunis

MECAM seeks to fill the role of an exchange platform and a common knowledge exchange between researchers from Tunisia, the Maghreb and Germany. To concretize this exchange, MECAM is conducting an intensive dialogue meeting with researchers from MECAM’s main partners, the University de Tunis, on its 5 thematic priorities.

Digitization

As part of the cooperation between the University of Tunis and the University of Marburg, this round table aims to explore the prospects of digitization

English

Colloque InternationalApproches pour l’histoire de la langue BERBÈRE: Mise en perspective  d’une langue à travers les âges

Organisé par l’Université de Tunis, le Laboratoire du Monde Arabo Médiéval, la Maison des Sciences de l’Homme Paris Nord et le Laboratoire Langues et Civilisations à Tradition Orale (CNRS, Paris). En partenariat avec : (1) L’Agence de Mise en Valeur du Patrimoine et de Promotion Culturelle ( AMVPPC), (2) la Bibliothèque nationale de Tunisie (BnT), (3) l’Institut National du Patrimoine ( INP), (4) l(Académie des Sciences, des Lettres et des Arts Beit al-Hikma.

Tunis 26 – 28 mai 2022

Destination Tunisia: Changing border regimes and Syrian displacement trajectories in the Global South 

Ce webinaire est présidé par Wael Garnaoui (Fondateur de the Border Studies Group, Université de Sousse), avec les intervention de  Dr. Ann Zuntz (MECAM & Université d’Edimbourg), Marwen Bounab (MADAR & Université de Sousse), Asma Ben Hadj Hassen & Francesco Teo Ficcarelli (Centre sur la Migration Mixte) et est modéré par Dr. Marouen Taleb (Institut de Recherche sur le Maghreb Contemporain, Tunis). La première partie du webinaire donne un aperçu des trajectoires de fuite des Syriens vers la Tunisie, en présentant les résultats d’un récent travail ethnographique de terrain mené par le Dr Ann Zuntz. La recherche comprend des entretiens avec des ménages syriens, des décideurs politiques et des fournisseurs d’aide en Tunisie ; il redirige l’attention des voyages Sud-Nord à travers la Méditerranée vers le mouvement Sud-Sud. L’étude démontre comment la migration d’avant-guerre et les liens commerciaux entre la Syrie et la Tunisie et le paysage migratoire complexe de la Tunisie ont façonné les conditions d’arrivée des Syriens. L’évolution des régimes frontaliers dans les pays d’accueil arabes a réorganisé les mouvements syriens à travers le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord, forçant les Syriens les plus pauvres à emprunter les itinéraires les plus longs, les plus dangereux et les plus chers pour atteindre la Tunisie. MMC clôture le webinaire avec des informations tirées des données d’enquêtes quantitatives recueillies au cours des deux dernières années auprès des Syriens résidant en Tunisie, qui mettront en lumière les itinéraires empruntés les plus courants, les expériences de voyage et les intentions pour l’avenir. Après les présentations, notre discutant Marouen Taleb répond avec ses commentaires et mènera à la session de questions-réponses.

Le webinaire se déroule le mardi 8 février 2022, de 17h00 à 18h30 (CET) (16h00 – 17h30 UTC) virtuellement sur Zoom après inscription sur eventbrite 

download here 

Dîner – rencontre avec les représentants des institutions allemandes basées à Tunis

Dans l’objectif de faire connaître le centre, qui se veut être une plateforme d’échange et de mise en commun des connaissances entre les chercheurs de Tunisie, du Maghreb et d’Allemagne, le « Merian Centre for Advanced Studies in the Maghreb » (MECAM) a organisé le 14 décembre dernier une réception dans ses locaux situé à l’Institut Supérieur des Études Appliquées en Humanités de Tunis (ISEAHT). Durant cette réception les deux directeurs du MECAM, Prof. Rachid Ouaissa et Prof. Khaled Kchir, avec la présence du président de l’Université de Tunis, Monsieur Habib Sidhom, ont eu l’occasion de présenter la structure du MECAM, et de ses grands axes de travail, aux différents représentants des institutions allemandes présentes en Tunisie. Cette présentation a continué autour d’un buffet dinatoire, avec un dialogue approfondi concernant les ambitions de ce centre et les possibles coopérations futures.

Dialogue Forum – « Impacts de la pandémie de Covid-19 sur la science et la recherche dans les régions partenaires des centres Merian ».

In their contribution to the Science Festival Globe21, the Merian Centers (represented by ICAS:MP – Delhi/India -; CALAS – Guadalajara/Mexico -; Mecila – Sao Paulo/Brasil – ; MIASA – Accra/Ghana -; MECAM – Tunis/Tunisia) will contribute from their perspective to a better understanding and general reflection on the immanent, but also the possible long-term implications of the COVID-19 crisis for research conditions in the Global South and international scientific cooperation, Merian Centres.

• Context information TÉLÉCHARGER 

Présentation du MECAM et de ses thématiques à l’Université de Tunis

MECAM cherche à remplir le rôle d’une plateforme d’échange et de mise en commun des connaissances entre les chercheurs de Tunisie, du Maghreb et d’Allemagne. Pour concrétiser cet échange, MECAM organise une réunion de dialogue intensif avec les chercheurs des principaux partenaires de MECAM, l’Université de Tunis, sur ses 5 priorités thématiques.

Digitalisation

Dans le cadre de la coopération entre l’Université de Tunis et l’Université de Marburg, cette table ronde a pour but d’explorer les perspectives de la digitalisation

Français